Springfield Mayor Schneider Elected to Tennessee Municipal League Board of Directors

Springfield Mayor Schneider elected to Tennessee Municipal League Board of Directors

Ann Schneider, Springfield Mayor, was elected to the board of directors of the Tennessee Municipal League (TML) during the League’s annual conference recently held in Chattanooga. Ken Moore, Franklin Mayor, was elected president.

Mayor Schneider was elected as one of eight district directors to represent her section of the state. She was nominated and elected during a district caucus of TML members from the Middle Tennessee region

Founded in 1940 and based in Nashville, TML is a nonprofit organization founded by cities and towns for mutual assistance and improvement. Representing 99 percent of Tennessee’s municipal citizens, the organization advocates for needed legislative action by the TN General Assembly, represents municipal interests before state departments and agencies, and – working through the National League of Cities in Washington – seeks to influence federal legislation and policies affecting municipal governments.

As a member of the TML board of directors, she will propose and help determine legislation municipalities need passed into law and will establish policy priorities for the League.

Other board elections include three vice presidents: TML 1st Vice President Bobby King, Henderson Mayor; 2nd Vice President Ron Williams, Farragut Mayor; and 3rd Vice President Paige Brown, Gallatin Mayor. TML vice presidents are traditionally in line to serve as president to ensure an order of succession.

The eight district directors, representing their section of the state, were nominated and elected during district caucuses. They are: District 1: Darrell Duncan, Kingsport Alderman; District 2: Randy Childs, Kingston Councilmember; District 3: Katie Lamb, Collegedale Mayor; District 4: Hoyt Jones, Sparta Alderman; District 5: Ann Schneider, Springfield Mayor; District 6: Blake Lay, Lawrenceburg Mayor; District 7: Mike French, Somerville Alderman; and District 8: Terry Jones, Millington Mayor.

The eight at-large directors were elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the membership. Those directors are: Kevin Brooks, Cleveland Mayor; Mark Watson, Oak Ridge City Manager; Mike Callis, Portland Mayor; Christa Martin, Columbia Vice Mayor; Vance Coleman, Medina Mayor; Keith McDonald, Bartlett Mayor; Mary Ann Tremblay, Three Way Vice Mayor; and Seth Sumner, Athens City Manager.

The TML board also includes past TML presidents. They are: Mike Werner, Gatlinburg Mayor; Jill Holland, McKenzie Mayor; Wallace Cartwright, Shelbyville Mayor; Curtis Hayes, Livingston Mayor; John Holden, Dyersburg Mayor; Dale Kelley, Huntingdon Mayor; Tommy Pedigo, Morristown Council; Bo Perkinson, Athens Mayor; Kay Senter, Morristown Council; and Sam Tharpe, Paris Commissioner.

The mayors of the four largest cities also serve as mayoral directors: John Cooper, Nashville Mayor; Tim Kelly, Chattanooga Mayor; Indya Kincannon, Knoxville Mayor; and Jim Strickland, Memphis Mayor.

The chairman of the Tennessee Municipal Bond Fund, Dale Kelley, Huntingdon Mayor; and the chairman of Public Entity Partners, Curtis Hayes, Livingston Mayor; also sit on the board.

The president of the Tennessee City Management Association, Tim Ellis, Goodlettsville City Manager, is also a voting board member.

Subscribe to our Newsletter!